National Park Canastra









FATMAP difficulty grade



Created in 1972, the Serra da Canastra National Park has approximately 93,000 demarcated hectares and part of the territory of 6 municipalities: São João Batista do Glória, São Roque de Minas, Vargem Bonita, Sacramento, Delfinópolis and Capitólio, in the southwest of Minas Gerais . The area basically brings together two massifs: Serra da Canastra and Serra das Sete Voltas, with the Cândidos valley in between.

Altitudes vary between 900 and 1,496 (Serra Brava tower) and the predominant vegetation is rocky fields, with patches of cerrado and riparian forests. The rugged terrain and the undergrowth produce a unique landscape, with great panoramic views and many waterfalls over 100 meters high. The characteristics of the relief and vegetation also favor the observation of wild animals, such as the giant anteater, the maned wolf and the pampas deer. The Casca D'Anta Waterfall is the largest drop on the São Francisco River and is formed when the National Integration River leaves its "cradle" in the Serra da Canastra, in Minas Gerais. Located in São José do Barreiro (MG), a district 38 kilometers from São Roque de Minas, it is formed by 186 meters of waterfall and is framed by a 186-meter-high bristle rock wall.